Jos. M. Goldberg Jewelry Store
This well-preserved brick commercial building in the Renaissance Revival style features segmentally arched windows and lion’s head ornamental brackets. A fruit stand stood on this site in 1909. The present structure was erected by 1915 and housed Joseph M. Goldberg’s jewelry store, with prominent display windows to showcase Goldberg’s merchandise. Retaining its historic use as a jewelry store, the The Gem Jewelry Co. occupied this structure from the early 1940s through the 1980s. The structure also housed the Honolulu Conservatory of Music and the Bay-Le Sewing Room, while Goldberg continued repairing watches on the second floor. The original shop front was replaced with a new marble shop front in an Art Deco-inspired style circa 1940. It has recently been renovated utilizing historic preservation tax credits and now serves as an event space and photography studio.