The First Church Christ-Scientist Edifice
1734 Albert St
Built in 1927, this sanctuary of the Christian Science denomination welcomed worshipers for prayer and healing for over 90 years. The building housed once housed a reading room and numerous Christian Scientist speakers from around the country spoke here. The stucco exterior walls, six decorative knee braces on the front gabled façade, and rafter tail supports along both its side rooflines are defining features of a rather unique Bungalow architectural style. This neighborhood Church is within the National Historical Register Garden District and was purchased recently by Catherine Davidson and Sara Hopper.
The Kellam-Redmond-Hughes Home
1924 White Street
Built in 1922, this nearly 100 year-old Craftsman-style Cottage has seen only three family owners. Clarence W. Kellam, opened the city’s first Ford dealership (1917), the Redmonds owned the residence well into the 21st century, and now J. Ross Hughes has restored the unique living spaces. Outside, this 1920s home features French doors and five decorative columns along the front porch and side carport porte-cochere. The interior has its original hard-wood floors, original windows, and other period architectural features. The residence remains on a beautiful corner in the heart of the Alexandria National Register Garden District.
The Adams-Farrington-Lord Home
2101 Elliott St.
This home on a beautiful tree-lined avenue is a simple, wood frame cottage built in the mid-1930s. Its prominent architectural features include an integral screened-in front porch set under a steep side gable roof and a substantial, decorative brick chimney. The home sits on a double-lot and the property includes a two-story garage apartment with balcony, two-car garage, and storage rooms. The first residents included the Adams and Farrington families. In 2010, current owners, Adam and Megan Lord, moved from New Orleans and knew this was the perfect house for them. They have spent the last 11 years restoring its original character and charm, adding a few of their own touches, and raising their boys in this well-built, roomy home.
The Michael Small Residence
903 Pierson St.
This late 20th Century home is a Mediterranean-style oasis in the middle of the city. Although almost 30 years-old, the residence is the newest home on the tour. The floor plan consists of large rooms and multiple living spaces designed for entertaining or having large parties. A circular drive allows guest to arrive Beautiful tall pines and live oaks grace the property. The builder placed newer home on a street first paved in 1941 and located within the earliest section of the Alexandria Post-War Suburbs National Register Historic District.
The Kahn-Davis Home
3132 Marye St.
Built in 1947, this unique brick home has a cozy design and is a part of the city’s post-World War Two expansion. All the streets leading out to McArthur Drive, a city bypass constructed in 1942, saw expansion in the immediate post-year years. During the 1950s and 1960s, the Kahn family lived here and Arthur Kahn owned Koblen’s Jewelry store downtown. Now the home of Mike and Carolyn Davis, the house features formal and informal living spaces and beautiful views of old-growth live oaks, magnolias, and lush landscaping outside.